Institution saved to your shortlist.

University of Alberta

  • 124 THE World University Rankings 2014-2015
  • 84 QS World University Rankings 2014
  • 109 THE World University Rankings 2013-2014
  • 96 QS World University Rankings 2013
  • 96 QS World University Rankings 2015
  • 137 THE World University Rankings 2015-2016
  • 90 QS World University Rankings 2018
Campus setting Contact the university / college
Living cost Contact the university / college
Student population Contact the university / college
International students Contact the university / college
Institution type Public

About University of Alberta

The University of Alberta (also known as U of A and UAlberta) is a public research university located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. It was founded in 1908 by Alexander Cameron Rutherford, the first premier of Alberta, and Henry Marshall Tory, its first president. Its enabling legislation is the Post-secondary Learning Act.

The university comprises four campuses in Edmonton, the Augustana Campus in Camrose, and a staff centre in downtown Calgary. The original north campus consists of 150 buildings covering 50 city blocks on the south rim of the North Saskatchewan River valley, directly across from downtown Edmonton. More than 39,000 students from across Canada and 150 other countries participate in nearly 400 programs in 18 faculties.

The University of Alberta is a major economic driver in Alberta. The university's impact on the Alberta economy is an estimated $12.3 billion annually, or five per cent of the province’s gross domestic product. With more than 15,000 employees, the university is Alberta's fourth-largest employer.

Campus information

Campus Alberta:

The University of Alberta is a strong supporter of Campus Alberta. The university has a long history of collaboration with Alberta’s post-secondary institutions. When the provincial government created Campus Alberta in 2002, the U of A took on an active leadership role promoting excellence, access and efficiency across Alberta’s post-secondary sector. Our leadership includes not only programming and research partnerships, but also administrative collaborations. The following timelines reflect the excellence, impact and efficiency the U of A brings to Campus Alberta by highlighting some of the university's many collaborative projects and programs.

The University of Alberta is located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. The university was stated that the capital would be north of the North Saskatchewan River and that the university would be in a city south of it. In the end the city of Edmonton became capital and the then-separate city of Strathcona on the south bank of the river was decided the university, much to the chagrin of Calgary.


Aboriginal Student Housing:

  • Belcourt Brosseau House: six bedroom co-ed home that is located within a short walk from the U of A campus with preference given to mature single Aboriginal students.
  • East Campus Village: four bedroom home reserved for single Aboriginal students. The gender designation of the house is determined by the current occupants. 

Hanson Fitness and Lifestyle Centre:

The Hanson Fitness and Lifestyle Center (Hanson FLC) has moved into a brand new facility in the Physical Activity and Wellness Center (PAW center)  after 22 years in our old location. We are proud to offer a facility that caters to the on-campus lifestyle. Our staff are welcoming and enthusiastic to introduce any members to our new facility. We are happy to support the hiring of students from the Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation at the University of Alberta.

Graduate students in the Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation can become involved in the research, instructional and service initiatives of the Centre.

Our new facility contains a wide variety of fitness equipment, including:

  • 76 new cardiovascular equipment, 
  • 2 large synergies stations for multi-training with a 3rd on its way
  • 14 new squat racks
  • free weights, and 
  • resistance training machines


Courses available 12

Accounting & Finance 1 Agriculture Studies 2 Business, Management 3 Creative Arts & Design 2 Engineering 2 Health and Medicine 1 Humanities & Social Sciences 1


Share this